Mr. Kirloskar has been conferred with this coveted award for his ‘Excellence in Corporate Leadership in Metallurgical Industries’

Toyota Kirloskar Motor India’s Vice Chairman, Mr. Vikram Kirloskar was honoured with the prestigious IIM-JRD Tata Award for 2020 by the Indian Institute of Metals (IIM). The award was conferred to him for his service to the country through his ‘Excellence in Corporate Leadership in Metallurgical Industries’.

In a digital event held on February 24, 2021, the IIM-JRD Tata Award for 2020 was handed over to Mr. Kirloskar, in the auspicious presence of the Honourable Minister of Steel, Mr. Dharmendra Pradhan, and the Honourable Minister of State for Steel, Mr. Faggan Singh Kulaste. The event was attended by many other distinguished industrialists, academicians, and researchers from across the country.

Expressing his gratitude upon being bestowed with such an honour, Mr. Vikram Kirloskar, Vice Chairman of TKM, said: “It is a privilege to receive this award as it is a much appreciated recognition and encouragement. I have strongly been guided by a vision of making India a world-class manufacturing hub & my commitment has always been towards developing world-class manufacturing competencies and building great talent, thereby driving a socio-economic growth agenda which fosters growth not just for the company but for the people, the society and the country at large. I am thrilled to receive this award as it is a true testimony to our efforts in this direction”.

Mr. Vikram Kirloskar is the 4th Generation scion of the Kirloskar Group. He is the Chairman and Managing Director of Kirloskar Systems Ltd. and the Vice Chairman of Toyota Kirloskar Motor Pvt. Ltd. Mr. Kirloskar’s contribution to the industry has been pivotal, having held and lead several prestigious positions in SIAM, CII & ARAI.

Instituted in 2007 by the Indian Institute of Metals (IIM), the IIM-JRD Tata Award is conferred annually at the National Metallurgists Day instituted by the Ministry of Steel & Mines. IIM in its journey spanning over 74 years has been recognizing eminent metallurgists, material scientists, industry professionals, researchers, teachers, and students for their significant contributions concerned with Minerals, Metals, Materials, and their applications, since its inception. Eminent personalities like Ratan Tata, Chairman Emeritus, Tata Sons and Tata Group, B. Muthurmanan, former Vice-Chairman of Tata Steel, Dr. E. Sreedharan, former MD of Delhi Metro, Debnarayan Bhattacharya, MD, Hindalco Industries, Dr. Sanak Mishra, Vice-President of Arcelor Mittal, HM Nerurkar, former MD of Tata Steel, Mr. S.K. Roongta, Chairman, Bharat Aluminium Company Ltd., Mr. Sajjan Jindal, CMD, JSW Group, and Mr. SN Subrahmanyan, CEO & MD, Larsen & Toubro Ltd., have been earlier recipients of this award.